Gwanghallu Pavilion


1447, Yocheon-ro, Namwon-si, Jeollabuk-do
전라북도 남원시 요천로 1447 (천거동)

Operating Hours

N/A (Open all year round)

April-October: 08:00-20:00 (19:00-20:00 Free admission)
November-March: 08:00-20:00 (18:00-20:00 Free admission)


Rebuilt in 1638 (the 16th year of King Injo), Gwanghallu Pavilion is one of the Joseon Dynasty’s most exemplary structures. The pavilion was constructed in 1419 by Hwang Hui, a noted prime minister in the early Joseon Dynasty, during his exile to Namwon. The name of the pavilion at that time was Gwangtongnu. In 1434, while the pavilion was undergoing reconstruction, scholar and politician Jeong In-ji called it Gwanghallu after Gwanghancheongheobu, the mythical palace on the moon. It is one of the top four pavilions, the others being Yeongnamnu Pavilion (Miryang), Chokseongnu Pavilion (Jinju), and Bubyeoknu (Jinju).

Designated as Treasure No. 281, the pavilion is one of four major pavilions known for excellent craftsmanship, along with Gyeonghoeru Pavilion, Chokseongnu Pavilion and Bubyeongnu Pavilion. Gwanghalluwon Garden, which consists of Gwanghallu Pavilion, a pond, Bangjangjeon Pavilion, and Yeongjugak Pavilion form Historic Site No. 33.

Parking Facilities




Baby Stroller Rentals

Not available


Not permitted


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment